top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Ehlert

Why the end of school year is the MOST important -10 ideas to motivate teachers!

Happy Memorial day!


I hope you all are sitting back with a nice cup of coffee (or wine) and enjoying this beautiful and special day, you deserve it!


Lately on my Instagram (@maestraehlert), I have been seeing many teachers struggling with how many days/weeks/maybe even months that they have left of the school year. Let me start with, I hear you, I understand you, and I get you! The end of the school year can be so difficult to maintain a cheery face, high energy, classroom management, oh, and we can't forget what is on the lesson plan for that day. It is TOUGH!


But, beyond all of that, isn't the end of the school year one of the most crucial and important times for our students? It is our LAST opportunity to fill those kiddos with as much knowledge, love, and respect that we possibly can before they leave us for the summer.


So, if you are needing some motivation to end the school year as the best educator you possibly can be (I know I was), here are 10 ideas/thoughts/quotes to help you power through it.


1. This one comes from the amazing Brain Mendler. Summer "vacation" for some students is a 2 month reminder of the dysfunction and chaos in their life. School can be the only place for them to consistently get a meal, a hug, and maybe even feel safe and protected. We know the end of the school can come with some extra behaviors. Expect those and embrace them. Instead of getting mad, feel sad, and welcome those students with even more compassion as the school year comes to a close. #kidsdeserveit


2. I know this seems cheesy, but you teach all of the other professions! How amazing and talented do you have to be in order to do that!? Just because it is the end of the school year doesn't change what a crucial and important role you have in society.


3.

Don't ever give up! Even when the end of the school year comes up!

4. I know you are tired! We all know there is no other tired like teacher tired. As you continue the rest of your school year remember: Even when the expectations begin to feel impossible, because of you, today a student smiled, made a connection, became more confident, and felt loved.


5.

Thought of the day - does the time of year change how critical our job is and how important it is?

6. I know we have all heard the quote from Jodd Whitaker, "The best thing about being a teacher is that it matters. The hardest thing about being a teacher is that it matters every single day. Regardless of how many days you have left of the school year every.single.day.matters! Each day a student sits in your classroom they become one step closer into the woman/man that God intended them to be.


7.

Do you want to look back at the school year and think, "I definitley could have done more. I could have done a better job."

8.

Even though the school year is ending, the impact that you made on different students will remain in their memories forever! When I first started reflecting on this I thought, "Do I want this student to remember me as the teacher who always cared about me even when it was hard, or that teacher just wanted to be done with me."


9.

Let's be honest. Not all teachers are going to be this for someone. Be this for every student you encounter, even when it gets hard, like the end of the school year.

10. YOU ARE A SUPERHERO! (Stick with me)

The rest of the world can't function without YOU. So, put on your cape, and complete this school year the way that you can by being the best educator that you can be.


Always,

-Maestra Ehlert


12 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page