top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Ehlert

Create a Classroom Community: 5 tips & tricks to build student relationships!

Hola! :)


If you follow me on Instagram (@maestraehlert), you know one of my biggest passions is developing positive relationships with all of our students to help them thrive in the classroom - no matter how tough they might be! I am a true believer that if you earn a child’s respect, you can teach them anything you want!


1. Greet every single student by their name at the door with excitement!! - I know it can be so easy to sit at your desk while a new group of students comes in to quick get some work done, but I promise you will see a change in your relationships with students if you try this. It lets students know you are excited to see them, you care about them, and you WANT them to be in your classroom. It may seem like a little step, but it’s a huge step in the right direction. Want to take this a step further? It sounds so simple, but talk about things that are not school related! Ask how their soccer game was, ask them what their favorite type of music is, ask how the book is that you have seen them reading. When you take the time to show you have an interest in them, they will start to show an interest in both you and your class.


2. The 2x10 Strategy - This strategy is so simple, but yet so effective! I want you to take a minute and think of two of your most difficult kiddos, or maybe two students that you feel like you don't know much about. The 2x10 strategy is this. Spend 2 minutes talking to each of those students for 10 days in a row about ANYTHING HE OR SHE wants to talk about. It may be school related, but most likely it won't be. The first couple of conversations may not be easy, in fact, they may be really hard. After each conversation, take a moment to reflect. I like to physically write down one new thing I learned about each student. There's no mystery to why this strategy works. It lets the child know that you care. It shows the child that you are devoting a portion of your day to only them.


3. Get the students' advice - Every student know matter what age wants to have their opinions validated and their feelings heard. Creating a new activity, ask for the students opinions or thoughts. Just finished an activity, ask the students what they thought. Something going on in the news, ask their opinion on it. Did the students create an activity? Play it! This helps turn my classroom from teacher centered into student centered. The students will feel special and honored to know that what goes on in your classroom is because of them and their place in it.


4. Positive emails/notes home - Every single week, I make note of two students that are doing exceptionally well. At the end of that week, I send home an email to their parents explaining what I have seen, and why I am specifically proud of their child. I send these emails home for ALL of my students. The students that are always doing the right thing no matter what, and the students who might have some more difficulty on a day to day basis. This will not only increase the relationship that you have with a specific student, but it will also grow the relationship with that students' family.


5. I need into I appreciate - I want you to take a second and think about how many times in your classroom you say, "I need you to.."

"I need you to take out your book."

"I need you to turn to page 25."

"I need you to turn in your homework."

Thinking from a students perspective, do they really care what YOU need, especially some of our more challenging kiddos? What if we changed all of those statements into, "I would appreciate if..."

"I would appreciate if you took out your book."

"I would appreciate if you would turn to page 25."

"I would appreciate if you would turn in your homework please."

I promise if you try this tip in your classroom you will see amazing results.


Last but not least, the last word that I challenge you to say after leaving every conversation with a student is...thank you. It's two simple words that show you respect, care for, admire, & want that student to be in your classroom no matter what. They know each day in your classroom is clean slate to start over and try again.



As always, please let me know what you think and if you are planning on bringing one of these tips/tricks into your own classroom. I love to hear from you!






49 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page