top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Ehlert

Top 10 Novel Study Extension Projects

Hello beautiful humans!


If you are like me, you find creating authentic and meaningful extension projects difficult to do. When creating extension projects, I want it to be a true demonstration of their knowledge, not just extra petty work. This year, I created the goal for myself to implement and create more extension projects within my novel studies! Below you will find my top 10 extension project ideas that I have found to be the most successful and engaging for students in my classroom after they finish reading their novel. If you give one a try, please let me know how it worked in your classroom! I love hearing from all of you. :) If you want any more detail on how to implement one of extension projects, please let me know! I purposefully leave it a little open ended so students can really let their creativity come through.


In my 8th grade classroom, students maintain as much Spanish as possible into each of these projects. All of these ideas are very adaptable for any level or age of your class! :)


1. Students create a prequel chapter to their novel.

2. Students create a sequel chapter to their novel.

3. Students create a podcast examining the characters in their novel. I have my students use this website but there are many other apps or websites to use.

4. Students pick their favorite chapter of the novel. They create illustrations for the chapter. In their illustrations they have to create extra dialogue between characters in Spanish.

5. Students create an additional character that they wish would have been in it! They create a picture of what their character would look like and create a written description of the character. Most students have added their character into one of the chapters!

6. Create a new cover for their novel with a description explaining why it is a better fit.

7. Write a letter to a character from the book.

8. Create a Facebook page/Instagram page for one of the characters.

9. Create interview questions for one of the characters in the book.

10. Create a diary for one of the students. Students create entries from their characters point of view. What would they be thinking/feeling throughout the novel?


Was this helpful for you? Could you integrate one of these into your novel studies? Happy Planning! :)



-Maestra Ehlert

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page